Press Release

Maharashtra grab lion's share of medals in gymnastics, but Protishtha and Bavleen hold their own

Pune, Jan. 10: Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh hogged the lion's share of medals in Khelo Indian Youth Games 2019 gymnastics action here on Thursday. The home state bagged five of the 14 gold on offer, while UP took four. UP dominated the men's section with four gold, while West Bengal (3) and Jammu & Kashmir (2) shared five gold in the women's events.

In terms of medals, Maharashtra had a whopping haul of 17, comprising five gold, five silver and seven bronze. UP took eight with four gold, one silver and three bronze.

Protishtha Samanta (three gold to take her tally to four) and Bavleen Kaur (two gold to take her tally to three) were the big stars.

Prothistha bagged three individual gold and took her personal tally to four – she won an earlier gold two days ago. Bavleen emerged as another major star among women, as she won two gold to take her haul to three at these Games.

Among men, Mohammed Rafey, who had one gold earlier, added two more on Thursday to take his golden haul to three. Rafey's brother, Mohammed Anas, also has a gold, and still has his individual apparatus events left.

Yet, it was Maharashtra's day in the event. Led by Shreyas Mandlik's one gold, two silver and a bronze, the hosts were also boosted by Krisha Chheda who landed a total of three medals (one gold, two bronze) out of the four events in rhythmic gymnastics.

Bavleen bagged two gold and two silver which made her a podium finisher in every event of the rhythmic gymnastics section while Protishtha Samanta dominated artistic gymnastics with her golden haul.

Uttar Pradesh dominated the men's artistic gymnastics with a total of eight medals. Mohd. Rafey impressed the judges yet again to take first place in two apparatus finals.

With an astounding total of 21 medals, the Maharashtra under-17 gymnastics team, buoyed by the home crowd, finished its campaign with an amazing haul.

While the first day was dominated by Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra managed to achieve a total of 17 medals on the last day itself.

Shreyas Mandlik bagged one gold, two silvers and one bronze to help Maharashtra reach the top followed by Krisha Chheda who scored a total of three medals (one gold, two silver) out of the four events in Rhythmic Gymnastics.

Apart from the home team's spectacular performance, there were two girls who stole the show. Bavleen Kaur from Jammu and Kashmir bagged two gold and two silvers which made her the podium holder in every event of Rhythmic Gymnastics.

Other than this, Protishtha Samanta stole the show in Women's Artistic Gymnastics by winning three gold medals on the last day. With this Protista takes home four gold medals for West Bengal.

Uttar Pradesh once again dominated the Men's Artistic Gymnastics with a total of eight medals. Mohd. Rafey impressed the judges yet again and bagged the first position in two apparatus finals.

Results: All Under-17

Men's Artistic Gymnastics:

Floor: 1. Mohd. Rafey (UP) 12.40; 2. Tushar Kalyan (DLI) 12.35; 3. Shreyas Mandlik (MH) 12.30. **Pommel Horse**: 1. Manesh Gadhave (MH) 10.800; 2. Shreyas Mandlik (MH) 10.25; 3. Ankur Sharma (UP) 10.25.

Table Vault: 1. Mohd Rafey (UP) 12.075; 2. Jagdish Barik (ODI) 11.95; 3. Vishal Jadhav (TEL) 11.95.

Rings: 1. Shreyas Mandlik (MH) 10.90; 2. Tushar Kalyan (DLI) 10.65; 3. Raj Yadav (UP) 10.35. Parallel Bar: 1. Jatin Kumar Kanaujia (UP) 12.8; 2. Shreyas Mandlik (MH) 11.5; 3. Raj Yadav (UP) 11.50.

High Bar: 1. Raj Yadav (UP) 11.20 2. Mohd Rafey (UP) 10.45; 3. Manesh Gadhave- (MH) 10.00

Women's Artistic Gymnastics:

Table Vault: 1. Protishtha Samanta (WB) 12.875; 2. Priyanka Dasgupta (TRI) 12.175; 3. Soham Naik (MH) 11.825.

Uneven Bars: 1. Siddhi Hattekar (MH) 8.55; 2. Mayuri Aeer (MH) 8.50; 3. Ananya Aggarwal (DLI) 8.15.

Beam: 1. Protishtha Samanta (WB) 11.40; 2. Priyanka Dasgupta (TRI) 11.35; 3. Riddhi Hattekar (MH) 10.45.

Floor: 1. Protishtha Samanta (WB) 11.45; 2. Priyanka Dasgupta (TRI) 11.2; 3. Soham Naik (MH) 11.00

Rhythmic Gymnastics:

Hoop: 1. Krisha Chheda (MH) 11.45; 2. Bavleen Kaur (JK) 11.40; 3. Aayushi Aggarwal (DLI) 8.55.

Ball: 1. Shreya Bhangale (MH) 12.85; 2. Bavleen Kaur (JK) 12.35; 3. Krisha Chheda (MH) 10.70. **Club**: 1. Bavleen Kaur (JK) 13.30; 2. Ananya Soman (MH) 10.85; 3. Krisha Chheda (MH) 10.70. **Ribbon**: 1. Bavleen Kaur (JK) 11.25; 2. Shreya Bhangale (MH) 11.00; 3. Vandhana Balamurgan (JK) 10.30